Applies to: Wii U
Yes. In order to perform a transfer of software and save data, you must have both your original Wii console and your new Wii U console to be able to do this. Data will be deleted from the Wii console once transferred, and cannot be transferred back from the Wii U console.
More about: Transferring Accounts
© 2017 Nintendo.