Understanding the transfer process

Applies to: Wii U


The console from which data will be transferred is known as the "source" Wii U console. The console to which data will be transferred is known as the "target" Wii U console.

While the system transfer process itself is very simple, there are a few important details to be aware of.

The length of time it takes to transfer content from one Wii U console to another varies depending on the volume of data being moved across. Please do not turn off the power to the Wii U console during the transfer process, or remove the SD Card unless instructed to do so.

Transferred content will be removed from the source Wii U console during the transfer process, and cannot be transferred back after the process is finished. Transferred software cannot be re-downloaded onto the source Wii U console.

It is not possible to specify which data will be transferred.

There is no limit to the number of transfers that can be made between Wii U consoles. However, after a transfer has been completed, it is necessary to wait one week before performing a transfer involving either the source or target Wii U console.


More about: Transferring Accounts