What Is Lost After Initialising the Nintendo Switch Console?
Initialising the Nintendo Switch console will remove the following data:
- All data in the system memory, including software, save data, screenshots, and user information will be deleted, restoring the console to factory settings.
- If you have save data backups stored using the Save Data Cloud service, you will be able to download them once you create a new user and link to it your Nintendo Account.
- All software saved on the microSD card, except for screenshots, will become unusable. (Data on the microSD card will not be deleted.)
- Any Nintendo Accounts linked to the console will not be deleted, but they will be unlinked from the console. After initialising the console, you can create a new user and link to it your Nintendo Account.
- Your Nintendo Account contains your Nintendo eShop purchase history and balance. By re-linking your Nintendo Account after initialising the console (whether to the same console or a different one), it is possible to redownload any software or DLC purchased using that account.
- If you are not connected to the internet while initialising the console, it will remain registered as the primary console for your Nintendo Account.
- You can also initialise a Nintendo Switch console without deleting save data via recovery mode, which will retain save data and user settings on the console.