How to Transfer User and Save Data

Applies to: Nintendo Switch


Introduction

Transferring user information and save data allows you to move your user profile and its associated save data and Nintendo eShop purchases from one Nintendo Switch console to another. Data is moved one user at a time, meaning you can pick and choose which user's data you would like to move and which user's data you would like to retain on the source console.

Important:

  • Both a source console and a target console are required to transfer user information and save data.
  • Both consoles must also be updated to system menu version 4.0.0 or higher and connected to the Internet.
  • A Nintendo Account must be linked to the user account you wish to transfer on the source console, and cannot be linked to a user account on the target console.
  • The target console cannot have more than seven users at the time of the migration (there must be room for one more user on the target console).
  • There must be sufficient free space on the target console's internal memory to receive the data that will be migrated there.
  • Once the process is complete, the user information, the associated save data, and the software purchased with the user account that is transferred will no longer be available on the source console.

Complete These Steps:

On the source console:

  1. From the HOME Menu, select "System Settings" > "Users" > "Transfer Your User and Save Data."
  2. Select "Next," and then "Next" again, then select "Source Console" to indicate that the content will be transferred from this console.
  3. Select "Continue," and then finish the following preparations on the target console.

On the target console:

  1. From the HOME Menu, select "System Settings" > "Users" > "Transfer Your User and Save Data."
  2. Select "Next," then "Next" again, then select "Target Console" to indicate that the content will be transferred to this console.
  3. Select "Sign in" and choose to sign in using your Nintendo Account e-mail address or sign-in ID.
  4. Enter either the e-mail address or sign-in ID associated with your Nintendo Account, and the password, then select "Sign in" > "Next."

On the source console:

  1. Wait for the target console to be found, and then select "Transfer."
  2. The transfer process will begin, wait for this process to complete.
  3. Once complete, select "End" to complete the process.
    • If no users are left on the console after the transfer is complete, a placeholder user account will be created.


More about: Using the Product