Restoring factory settings without deleting save data

Applies to: Nintendo Switch


Alongside restoring the console to factory settings and deleting all data, you can also restore factory settings without deleting save data.

If you are trying to reformat your console because a problem has occurred, we recommend that you try the latter method first.

If you choose to reformat your console in this way, the following types of data will remain in the system memory, and all other data will be deleted:

  • Save data
  • Screenshots
  • User information
    • Nintendo Account link
    • Registration of your console as the active console for downloads for your Nintendo Account (only when connected to the internet)

You will become unable to use software data saved on a microSD card

Even if you restore factory settings without deleting save data, you will become unable to use software data saved on a microSD card.

As your user information and Nintendo Account link will not be deleted if you reformat your console in this way, you can redownload deleted software data from Nintendo eShop.

  • Screenshots saved to a microSD card will not be affected and can continue to be used.
  • Redownloading may not be possible for software that is no longer being distributed.

How to restore factory settings without deleting save data

Unlike other formatting options, this must be done by accessing a special recovery mode.

1. Turn the console off.

→How to turn the console off

2. Press the POWER Button while holding the volume up and volume down buttons. Continue holding the volume buttons to open recovery mode.

Keep holding the volume buttons until recovery mode is displayed

3. Select "Restore Factory Settings Without Deleting Save Data", then follow the on-screen instructions.


More about: Using the Product, Storage