Support

Get support for your Nintendo systems, software and services

How to Remove a Nintendo Account from a Family Group

Instructions on removing a Nintendo Account from a family group.

Additional Information:

  • Supervised Nintendo Accounts for users who are under the age of 16 OR who have not yet registered an email address cannot be removed from a family group. However, these accounts can be transferred to a different family group.
  • When an account is removed, all Nintendo eShop restrictions will be lifted and account history will not be visible to the supervisor any more.
  • A Nintendo Switch Online family membership is available to all Nintendo Accounts in the membership owner's family group.
    • If a member leaves the owner's family group, they will no longer be covered by that family membership.
    • If the membership owner leaves the group, the other members of the family group will no longer be covered by that family membership.

Complete These Steps:

  • Nintendo Accounts can be removed by either the family group admin or the Nintendo Account owner.

Who is removing the Nintendo Account from the group?



  1. Sign in to the admin Nintendo Account for the family group.
  2. Click “Nintendo Account” in the upper-left corner of the screen to access your account settings.
  3. Select “Family Group”.
  4. Select “Manage family group”.
  5. Select “Remove a family group member”.
  6. Click “Select this person” next to the family group member that you want to remove.
  7. Review the information on the screen, then select “Confirm” to remove the account from the family group.
    • This does not delete the user’s Nintendo Account. It will still function as a standard Nintendo Account, and can be added back to the family group in the future.

  1. Sign in to your Nintendo Account.
  2. Click “Nintendo Account” in the upper-left corner of the screen to access your account settings.
  3. Select “Family Group”.
  4. Select “Leave this family group” in the lower-right corner.
  5. Select “Leave family group” again to remove your Nintendo Account from the group.