Support

Get support for your Nintendo systems, software and services

How to Unlink a Nintendo Account From a Nintendo Switch Console

Description:

Instructions on unlinking a Nintendo Account from a Nintendo Switch console.

Important:

  • Once a Nintendo Account is linked to a user account, this link cannot be undone. The associated user account must also be deleted to unlink a Nintendo Account from a Nintendo Switch console.
  • A Nintendo Account can be linked to more than one Nintendo Switch console at a time. You do not need to unlink the Nintendo Account prior to linking it to a second console.
  • Deleting a user account from a Nintendo Switch console will also delete any save data that is associated with that account and saved to the console.
  • Data deleted from a console cannot be restored unless it is first backed up using the Save Data Cloud service.
  • If you wish to retain save data that cannot be backed up using the Save Data Cloud service, do not delete the associated user account.

Additional Information:

  • Unlinking a Nintendo Account from a Nintendo Switch console does not delete the Nintendo Account or any associated purchases. The Nintendo Account will still be available and can be re-linked to another user account in the future.

What to Do:

  • To unlink a single Nintendo Account from a Nintendo Switch console, delete the associated user account.
  • To unlink all Nintendo Accounts from a Nintendo Switch console, initialise the Nintendo Switch console.