Welcome to Nintendo Support

Get support for your Nintendo systems, software and services

How to Delete a User Account on Nintendo Switch

Description:

Instructions on deleting a user account on Nintendo Switch.

Important:

Deleting a user account will delete all save data associated to the account. Save data cannot be restored once it is deleted.

Additional Information:

If the user account is linked to a Nintendo Account, the Nintendo Account will not be deleted. However, software purchased with the account cannot be played until the Nintendo Account is re-linked to a new user account.

Complete These Steps:

  1. Select “System Settings” from the HOME Menu.
  2. Scroll down to highlight “Users,” then select the appropriate user account to access the Profile Settings.
  3. Scroll down to the bottom of the settings and select “Delete User.”
    • If a Parental Control PIN has been set for the system, you will be prompted to enter it to proceed. (Forgot PIN?)
  4. Check the box next to “Delete,” then select “Next.”
    • If a Nintendo Account is linked, select “Confirm,” then “Unlink” to remove the Nintendo Account link.
  5. Select “Delete this User.”
  6. Once the account has been deleted, select “OK” to return to the system.