What kinds of My Nintendo points are there?

Applies to: My Nintendo

My Nintendo points can be broadly divided into two types.

Platinum Points

Platinum Points are either earned within a smart device application and tied to that app (for example, Miitomo Platinum Points), or not tied to any particular app (Regular Platinum Points).

Gold Points

Gold Points are earned for purchasing downloadable software from Nintendo eShop on Nintendo 3DS or Wii U, or from the Nintendo website.

Gold Points cannot be earned by purchasing add-on content (DLC), passes, themes or packaged software.

More about: Points & Rewards